A class can be cancelled in admin calendar. Click the class and select the tab Information > Visible > Yes, cancelled. If deadline is still in the future the system automatically send an at the time of the cancellation email to all participants. If deadline is in the past the mail won't be sent and this should be done manually. A class can send only one automatic message.